Saturday, May 25Deed That Matters

Navaratri celebration All Over India From 10 October To 18 October

Navaratri is one of the most important Hindu festivals of India. Navratri means “Nine Nights”, and celebration of Goddess Durga in her nine different forms on the planned nine days. The Navratri festival celebration is very colorful. People keep fast for these 9 days and enjoy with full passion. Even in some states like Gujarat and Mumbai  people organize Garbha and Dandiya in Navratri nights. This year the Shard Navratri festival will start from 10th October 2018 to will end on 18th October, 2018. These 9 days of Navratri are committed to the worship of 9 forms of the Goddess – Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalaratri, Mahagauri, Durga or ParaShakti.

First Day of Navaratri- Maa Shailaputri

Maa Shailaputri is worshiped on the 1st day of Navaratra. Shailaputri was the daughter of the God of Hills, Himalaya. known as Parvati, her husband  Shiva and she has two sons – Kartikeya and Ganesha in her previous incarnation, she was Sati – the daughter of a great king, Daksha. According to the legend, Daksha Prajapati was one of the sons of Lord Brahma.Daksha did not want his daughter, Sati, to marry Shiva as he considered Shiva a uncle anascetic not deserving of marrying a girl from a noble family.

Second Day of Navaratri- Maa Brahmacharini

Maa Brahmacharini is the goddess praise on the 2nd day of Navratri. In this avatar, Durga represents tapa or penance. Brahmacharini is produced from two words – Brahma here means tapa or penance and Charini means an ardent female follower.

Right after she immolated herself in the sacrificial fire of the yagna, Durga took birth as the little girl of the King of the Hills, or Himalaya. She was named Hemavati.

Third of Navaratri- Maa Chandraghanta

On the third day of Navratri, the third Power of Goddess Durga is worshipped. This avatar of Goddess Durga is known and worshipped as Ma Chandraghanta . Her forehead is bedecked with the crescent moon very similar to the shape of a temple bell. Upon the insistence of Sage Narada, Parvati, the daughter of Himalaya observed austere penance to get Lord Shiva as her consort. Shiva, after losing Sati, had turn into detached from worldly relationships and had retired into the mountains in deeply meditating, solitude and austerity.

Fourth Day of Navaratri- Maa Kushmanda

Maa Kushmanda is worshipped by enthusiasts on the fourth day of Navratri. This avatar of Adi Shakti is also known as the Smiling Goddess. Her name is made up of 3 unique words. The first word is “Ku” which means little. The second word is “Ushma” which means warmth or energy. And the 3rd word is “Anda” which means egg. Upon combining the three words, one can derive the importance of her name which means the one who is the originator of this “little cosmic egg” called Universe. This form is a happy expression of the goddess.


Fifth Day of Navratri- Maa Skandamata

Maa Skandamata is the 5th avatar of Durga and is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. Skanda is one more name for Lord Kartikeya. Mata means mother and thus Skandamata means mother of Skanda or Kartikeya. As is distinct from the name, she is another form of Parvati.

Sixth  Day of Navaratri- Maa Katyayani

Maa Katyayani is worshipped on the 6th day of Navratri. She has four arms and she wields a lengthy blade and a lotus in two of them. She blesses with the third side and defends with it all one.

According to the stars, there was a sage known as ‘Kat’ who had a son known as ‘Katya’. Later, a sage known as ‘Katyayan’ took beginning as his infant. Sage Katyayan had no children. He noticed austere penance and interceded to the gods for a Child.

Seventh Day of Navaratri- Maa Kaalratri

Maa Kaalratri is the goddess who is worshiped on the 7th day of Navratri. Kaal represents time as well as loss of life in Hindi where as ratri represents evening or darkness/ignorance. Hence, Ma Kaalratri is the one that delivers the loss of life of evening or the one who finishes lack of knowledge. She is also often called Kali..

Eight Day of Navaratri- Maa Mahagauri

Maa Mahagauri is the Goddess worshiped on the eighth day of the 9-day long festival of Navratri in India. Maha means incredibly and gauri means white. She is worshiped by lovers to attain commitment in connections and create life-long bonds.

Nine Day of Navaratri- Maa Dugra

On the 9th day of Navratri we worship Goddess Durga by means of Siddhidatri. To receive the delight from the Goddess wear something in violet on this day. You can put on a Purple soft silk saree or purple georgette saree with line or rock work to coordinate up the event spirit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: